Fall Into new music

This autumn has been rife with new music. Earlier in September, the District saw the first Landmark Music Festival to benefit the National Mall, and the month was interspersed with gigs by The Neighbourhood, Wavves, FIDLAR and Wolf Alice. The fun only continues into October, November and December with several new albums dropping, as well shows by Halsey, Garbage and Glass Animals within driving distance of the District.

Sore / Dilly Dally – October 9

The debut album of Toronto-based punk act Dilly Dally was released October 9 to considerable buildup and great excitement. Fronted by Katie Monks and Liz Ball and recently signed to Partisan Records, their music evokes teen angst with a darker edge. Showcasing grungy guitars and clear vocals, the lead single, “Desire,” smolders into existence as more of a demand than a song. The album passes through “Next Gold” and the undeniable groove of “Witch Man,” before concluding quietly, albeit assertively, with “Burned by the Cold.”

Tracklist: 1) Desire

2) Ballin Chain

3) Snake Head

4) The Touch

5) Next Gold

6) Purple Rage

7) Get to You

8) Witch Man

9) Green

10) Ice Cream

11) Burned by the Cold

Upcoming shows: DC9 Nightclub, November 12. Tickets are $10 as a preorder and $12 at the door.


Fading Frontier / Deerhunter – October 16

Since the release of 2010’s Halcyon Digest and 2013’s Monomania, much has changed for lead singer Brandon Cox. After a car in (CHECK YR), he experienced a deep depression which in turn influenced Deerhunter’s music. Where Monomania was darker, Fading Frontier will be lighter, if the singles “Snakeskin” and “Breaker” are any indication. “Snakeskin,” the first single released off Fading Frontier, features Zumi Rosow.”Breaker” marks the first time Brandon Cox and Lockett Pundt have shared vocalist duties.


1) All The Same

2) Living My Life

3) Breaker

4) Duplex Planet (feat. Tim Gane of Stereolab on electronic harpsichord)

5) Take Care (feat. James Cargill of Broadcast on synthesisers and tapes)

6) Leather and Wood

7) Snakeskin (feat. Zumi Rosow on treated alto saxophone)

8) Ad Astra

9) Carrion

Upcoming shows: 9:30 Club, December 5. Tickets are $25.


Òran Mór Session / The Twilight Sad – October 16

Last year, the Twilight Sad performed at Glasgow’s Òran Mόr Auditorium, and they plan to release that session. The album is composed primarily of songs from their previous album Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants To Leave, on a limited edition LP only available to those who purchase it at live shows. The album will be released on FatCat Records and features a cover of Arthur Russell’s “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face.”

Tracklist: 1) Nobody Wants To Be Here and Nobody Wants To Leave

2) Last January

3) It Never Was the Same

4) Pills I Swallow

5) I Could Give You All That You Don’t Want

6) Drown So I Can Watch

7) The Airport

8) Leave the House

9) I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face

Upcoming shows: The Twilight Sad do not have any local shows scheduled at the moment, although they will be playing Madison Square Garden in June with The Cure.